1. Welcome to Game Dog Forum

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Dismiss Notice

why is weight an issue?

Discussion in 'Dog Discussion' started by badger, Oct 15, 2004.

1. badger

badger Big Dog

i know on this forum it seems to be very clear that a certain weight is desired, however there is no height or weight standard for the breed is there? i am new to the breed and am doing alot of research because i am probably going to get this breed of dog. and i am really excited because there are alot of real enthuisiasts on this board that clearly loves this breed there is alot of history and info i have obtained reading posts and articles. so if there is no height or weight standard (feel free to correct me) why is it that alot of people frown on pits of larger size? i understand the breed was only a certain size but wasnt alot of different breed of dogs the same way and are now of bigger size .

2. dustin

dustin Pup

it's all about prefrence.. i have my pit bull for a house dog. i chose a pit bull because they're smart. not because they can pull a bunch of weight. i grew up around dobie's and they were used as guard dogs when we had them. I wanted to stick to bully breeds but i wanted a smarter dog. so i chose pitbull. my female is 55+ lbs. it's obviously over what people like here.. but i think she's just fine.

3. if i understand what u are saying there is a standard on height and weight, look at the apbt conformation website....look at the adba standards

4. Bubba

Bubba Top Dog