1. Welcome to Game Dog Forum

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Dismiss Notice

Can I ask a question without getting BBQ'd?

Discussion in 'Dog Discussion' started by thereseiam, Sep 9, 2010.

1. Okay, I'm new to this breed, and am actively looking for my first dog, but don't have one yet. I am looking for a dog who will be good in obedience and agility, as well as be athletic enough to follow along when I go trail riding--it's not unusual for us to cover 20 miles a day of fairly tough country.

So as I've been reading everything I can about APBTs, obviously I've come across the 'bully types' that pretty much everyone on here despises. Now I am NOT trying to stir anything up, I'm trying to learn, so please be nice, but can anyone tell me what is the deal with this type of dog? Are they pit bulls still? We have two English bulldogs (who absolutely would keel over after about 1/2 a mile of following along on a trail ride) and these bully types look more like my English bulldogs than pit bulls.

I have figured out that Gotti and Razors Edge are 'bully' lines--are there any other lines that I would probably want to avoid for what I want a dog for?